Turn on the tap…

blog, nanowrimo, writing

images-1

I have made it to the half way point. I have managed – somehow – to write a blog post every day for two weeks. Whoa. I am impressed with myself! I know that I’m only half way there but I am so glad that I’ve managed that make it this far! However, some days I feel like I’ve hit a wall. A dry spot. I want what I write to be something interesting, something that people actually want to read but it can be so difficult to know whether it is or not. I haven’t really got anyone to share my writing with before I ‘publish’ it on here, no one to tell me, “Um, Leah…that’s actually kind of boring.”

I set myself the task of writing something every day of this month for a reason. I want to create a habit – a creative habit! I don’t want writing to become a chore for me, I want writing to be something that I go out to do by impulse, “just because”. When I hit a ‘creative dry spell’ I want to automatically make the decision to just sit down at my computer, or with a notebook – and just write. What comes out of the tips of my fingers might not be the best of compositions, but I know that it will eventually ‘turn on the tap’, so to speak.

I don’t want to get home from work every night to just flick through Facebook and Twitter, maybe play a video game or two and then to fall asleep. I want to wake up an hour earlier than I need to in the morning, and write! I want to take notice of everything around me and describe it. Imagine stories and then put them down on paper. I want to make the most of my time here.

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.”
― Louis L’Amour

Sometimes I have the opposite issue. I have so many thoughts and ideas in my mind, and I can’t physically write it all down! I get overwhelmed. I will start to write one thing, and then suddenly move on to another – it’s like a creative ADHD. (You might have noticed that in my previous posts…sorry about that! I’m a bit like that in real life too. One moment we will be talking about a movie we’ve just seen, and then all of a sudden I’ll be talking about something completely irrelevant. Of course I’ll expect everyone to know what I’m going on about.) The vast amount of stories in my head immobilises me.

Today I was knitting (see what I mean about the ADHD? There is a point to this, seriously..!) and I decided to pick up a work in progress that I put down months ago. I have so many unfinished projects up in my room and it often feels like I can’t start another one until I have finished the rest! I’m feel like this when I am writing. I’ll push stories and characters to the back of my mind, hoping to extract them at a later date…I never do. I try to force myself to finish something that I’m not feeling inspired to complete. Perhaps I’m just not ready to end that tale just yet…

I guess what I’m trying to say is, write regardless. Write when you haven’t got anything to write about – because you will find something. Write when you have too much to write about – otherwise you might forget it. Start new projects before you finish others, write little biographies for characters from a different land, write descriptive writings of uninhabited cities! And use them at a later date. Who knows, maybe writing something fresh will inspire you to finish something old.

Leave a Reply

