Let’s have a catch up…

Uncategorized

Hello everyone…it’s been a while. I was doing rather well with this blogging malarkey, and then somewhere in the middle of NaNoBloMo I disappeared. Let’s have a catch up…

The past couple of months have been rather eventful! I went on a wonderful shopping trip with the boyfriend. We unfortunately booked our little holiday during the Black Friday sales – unknowingly – and were stuck in the Trafford Centre in Manchester, in the midst of the crazy deal obsessed shoppers! It was okay really, we went to the cinema to escape it all for a little bit, and then shopped on the Saturday. It was worth it for all of the deals that we got! (Let’s just say, my family were spoiled at Christmas!)

My family weren’t the only ones! David was just incredible with his present choices. He spoilt me rotten and I’ve sworn not to ask him how much he spent…I think I can make a good guess though! Among my presents was a mandolin, an electric ukulele, a gorgeous watch, knitting supplies, a Disney song book, a How to Play the Ocarina songbook, Giovanna fletchers “Christmas with Billy and Me”… I could go on for hours! How I managed to get such a wonderful man to even consider dating me, I will never know!

Unfortunately my work situation still hasn’t changed, however I am a little more certain about what sort of job I would like to be applying for. I want to go into social work, preferably in nursing homes for the elderly. I have done my fair share of care type roles in my short life so far, and I have loved it! I think that growing up in the family that I did, has probably helped to shape my decision too – 3 out of my 6 aunt have either adopted or fostered, my mother is a school nurse, one aunt is a full time foster carer, a cousin is a social worker, another aunt is a midwife, my nan is a carer, another aunt is a school nurse, another cousin is training to be a doctor, a sister is training to be a physiotherapist…it’s just in my blood! It might sound like a bit of a silly thing to say, but I believe that it’s true. I know that this country needs carers at the moment, especially in nursing homes, and I want to do my part.

David and I are looking at moving out sooner than later, too. I think the parents are coming around to the idea a little bit more, which is helpful, we just need to do it now! It’s a little daunting, but it needs to happen. I have so much stuff in my room right now, that I have no where to put it all! We kind of started collecting things that we would need when we move – a kettle, a toaster, kitchen supplies, a clock, a T.V. – and right now, I’m attempting to store it all in my bedroom. Things will work out in the end though.

I hope I’ll get back into the blogging – I’m keeping a diary now, too. A present off David. I think it’s helping my creative juices! Speak soon.

Leave a Reply

